Indyarocks Spam - What is wrong with these Social Networks
Well this is going on for a very long time where I am getting web 2.0 spam from many newly launched social networks. The spam starts with the line - “Some XYZ has invited you to join some network ABC, if you don’t join, he/she may feel bad” and you starts wondering who is this person XYZ.
This one of the mail I just got few minutes back from Indyarocks, which is a pretty big social network of India.
Hi,
I have moved to Indyarocks. Now you can check out my photos, videos and blogs all at one place
![]()
Click on the link below to view my latest profile and pics
Thanks
sayyed ibrahimWhy did I move?
At Indyarocks I can
- Access and Share Movies, Games, Music and Cricket for free
- Send unlimited free SMS
- Participate in cool contests and Win Prizes.
- Buy movie tickets, print photos
- Share all my photos, videos and blogs from one place
Now I have no idea who is sayyed ibrahim and it may be a possibility that I got the mail by mistake and I may be in some sayyed ibrahim’s address book but this is not the first time I have got such mail from indyarocks and everytime the person is unknown to me.
I have no problem with these social networks and whatever I have seen of Indyarocks, it looks pretty good to me so why retort to such measures ? and this is the problem of almost all the social networking sites. The first thing they think to grow is to get into the address book of the registered users and start mailing to everyone. It was ok when one or two social networks were around but with one social networking popping every day, its getting out of control. Hope to see not more such mails as they only put the site in bad light
Related posts:
- Submit your Post to all Social Bookmarking Sites with one Click There are loads of social bookmarking sites on the net...
- Spam in SEOMoz Jobs and Contracts Section It seems SEOMoz which used to had a pretty good...
- Collegehumor Spam on Digg It seems Collegehumor has its own underground network of diggers...
- Youtube Voting Spam Saw it on Youth of the Nation video. Its...
- Check Account Name Availability on Major Social Networking Sites I am a member of hundreds of sites and forums...

1Raghu on Jan 18, 2011 :
You are right I have been receiving the same messages from Indyarocks.com for a long time now and I think now Google has also taken action by giving them a PR0. Sites like Indyarocks.com spoil the reputation of the internet by resorting to spamming.